In recent years, some countries have experienced very rapid economic development. This has resulted in higher standards of living in urban areas but not in the countryside. What problems could this cause? How could these be reduced?

Boosting the national economy is something every government aims for, but there are some problems that can arise with it. Life standards in the cities have seriously increased as a consequence of the development, leading to a bigger gap between urban and rural populations. I strongly believe this is an issue governments should attend to as it can provoke major levels of inequality among citizens. Superficial analysis might support the idea that economic improvements are always positive. However, there are some issues that need to be addressed. Firstly, due to these developments city life becomes significantly more expensive, leading to a bigger socio-economic gap between urban and rural people. For example, the chances of countryside youngsters attending prestigious universities will severely be affected as students fees will probably increase. As a consequence, graduates will not have the same work opportunities. In addition, high standards of life might attract more people to urban areas, increasing pollution with overcrowded cities. The government is the main responsible for attending to this matter and there are some clear actions that can be taken to avoid increasing economic inequality. On one side, subsidies and financial benefits can be given to the poor for them to have the same opportunities as the rest of the population. For example, university scholarships and transport free passes can be implemented so the economy does not become a reason for not accessing top education. On the other hand, governments should also encourage the rural way of life, probably by offering incentives and investing in quality infrastructure. If life in the countryside is also attractive, fewer people might consider moving to the city. In summary, although economic development is a clear goal for any government, rural areas should not be left behind for those improvements. In order to avoid inequality between urban and regional areas, governments should invest and promote life in the countryside and give everyone the same opportunities.