Many criminals re-offend after they have been punished. Why do some people continue to commit crimes after they have been punished, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

Crime is a serious issue in many countries. While governments are trying to reduce its rate, some criminals commit offences after being released from prisons. There are many reasons for this behaviour starting from unemployment to the psychological urge to commit offences again and again. The following paragraphs will discuss possible reasons for this issue and suggest remedial measures. To commence with, people with a criminal record are usually not accepted by society. More specifically, despite the punishment, society is afraid that a criminal can re-offend. As a result, people with a criminal past struggle to find employment. In order to get over poverty, they can go back to crime. Another common reason is that some people are psychologically predisposed to commit crimes. They want to earn money quickly and easily by, for example, burglary and pickpocketing. In terms of solutions, I believe that the government is largely responsible. First and foremost, prisons should provide training courses so that the offenders could engage in any activity in the future and get paid, thus, living a fulfilling life. For instance, they can be carpenters or welders. This measure would be beneficial for society, the economy and prisoners' future life. Secondly, I believe that ex-prisoners should get assistance to get employed and re-enter society. Without any assistance, there is a high probability that they may never get employed. Lastly, psychologists should assess the mental state of prisoners before releasing them. This way, potential re-offenders can easily be detected. To conclude, one of the main reasons to re-offend a crime is generally related to poverty and unemployment. Governments should provide training and assist criminals to re-enter society after they have been punished.