Many criminals re-offend after they have been punished. Why do some people continue to commit crimes after they have been punished, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

A large number of criminals who served their first prison sentence, keep on committing crimes even after punishment. This is mainly because of difficulty finding regular employment once released and the most viable solution is to focus on rehabilitation rather than punishment. The major reason to re-offend after the sanction is unemployment. It is the number one predictor of recidivism, the less likely it is for a formerly incarcerated person to find a job, the more likely it is that they end up back in prison. It is clear that no one wants to hire a person who has a dark past and some problems with violation of the law, therefore employer would engage someone who has not had a conviction previously. For instance, a recent government survey found that, in New York City, a criminal record reduced the likelihood of a callback or job offer by nearly 50 per cent. Consequently, this is a cause of this problem. To tackle this problem the government should concentrate on rehabilitation methods such as occupational-based seek to prepare offenders to re-enter the workforce by training them on jobs. They can learn practical skills such as computer programming, cat maintenance and graphic design. In this way,they can be hired for a position that requires certain knowledge and skills. For example, in Norway, inmates are given opportunities that no one has, as their state provides them with jobs as soon as they get out of jail. So, they can get better performance easily than people who get punishment. In conclusion, joblessness is a major issue that can result in individuals committing a crime again, nevertheless, it can be addressed through the right approach in jail like rehabilitation. It is predicted that people who have convictions can earn the same amount of money as others.