The young today spend a large amount of their time in the shopping mall. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this issue?

As the 21st century continues to unfold, youngsters’ habitual killing time in shopping malls has become a prevalent trend, fuelling heated debate among educationists and upbringings. From my perspective, this trend is a double-edged sword that can take a toll on youngsters’ personal and professional development. Admittedly, the young and the consumer industry could both reap certain benefits from this trend. First, in this fast-paced society, both schools and the job market become cut-throat, causing youngsters to bear a hectic schedule. After hours of burying themselves into studies or work, their temptations to reward and indulge themselves with variably priced items are justifiable. Furthermore, not only does this habit offer ample benefits for youngsters’ mental health, but it also assists in bolstering the shops and boutiques’ sales and revenues. The need to consume is undeniably an engine for the economy, boosting both consumers’ motivations to work harder and businesses’ lucrative abilities. Nevertheless, it is urgent that young people redirect their time to meaningful habits with long-term benefits due to this trend’s overwhelming demerits. The opportunity costs of this habit, besides the immediately obvious such as wasting money and time, include reshaping their personalities and abilities, making it more challenging to conform to work and study regulations. A prime example of this case is Anna Sorokin, a materialistic young lady who tried to escape from dull office hours by making a shortcut to reach fame with frauds. Aside from this, by restricting themselves to a redesigned and glorified version of reality like shopping centres, youngsters no longer care for the real world with real people, resulting in neglect in world’s pains like famine, pandemic, or catastrophes. In the absence of sympathy, the basis of motivations to take care of beloved beings and change the world for the better, civilization would sink to its bottom before anyone is aware. To summarize, I firmly suggest teachers and parents reshape youngsters’ concepts and habits, thus their cognitive definition and abilities. Purposeless activities which strolling around shopping malls stand out as an example should be discouraged or redefined as a less frequent habit.