Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Crime is one of the vigorously discussed topics in many countries. In order to increase the efficiency of judgement, a segment of society is convinced that each type of crime should have a fixed punishment. Others, however, believe that crime circumstances should play a key role when deciding on the punishment. The following paragraphs will highlight both views and explain why crime circumstances require an individual approach for each and every case. To commence with, if every type of criminal act had a fixed punishment, judgement efficiency would be improved and people would not get away from punishments by making false circumstances to get less severe sentences. For example, two people who committed a murderer would get 20 years of prison sentence equally. In this case, judges and others would not have to spend time investigating the case. As a result, this would also deter other potential murderers, because they would know precisely about the punishment for their actions. Alternatively, a fixed punishment system is not as logical as it seems. Because every crime has individual circumstances. Therefore, it would be wrong to give the same sentence, for instance, to someone who committed a murderer trying to defend themselves after being abducted and someone else who did it intentionally. It is obvious that the former case should not involve any punishment. Thus, I believe that judges should consider crime circumstances in the first place. To conclude, although fixed punishments have a few benefits, their significant drawback as possible injustice towards innocent people should not be ignored. I believe that every crime should be investigated and judges should consider the circumstances.