Some people believe that buses and trains should be free for everyone. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the past few years, there has been a lot of controversy regarding whether public transport should be provided free of charge. Some opine that it is a good idea, whereas, others believe otherwise. I partially agree with this statement, and this essay will discuss my views. First and foremost, free transportation would discourage people from utilising their private vehicles, especially as the price of petrol is through the roof at the present moment. Namely, many countries have lowered the price of public transport, such as skytrains, to discourage the use of private vehicles. As a result, the number of citizens having access to public transportation has risen. In addition, all forms of commuting provided by the state should be free of charge, especially for those who are paid minimum wage or have a lower income. Thus, this would result in better rationing of income as they don't have the burden of paying to go from one place to another. Furthermore, pollution would decrease. This is because the emissions from cars would significantly drop. This would lead to lower pollution from private vehicles. As a consequence, the citizens of the nation would experience an improvement in their health, leading to a more productive workforce. On the other hand, if the forms of transportation are free, everyone would use them. As a result, it can be very crowded and suffocating. In addition, there may be a shortage of trains to accommodate all passengers. Moreover, free public provision would lower the government's budget. Therefore, it may limit the other opportunities for the administrators t to provide facilities and achieve objectives that aim to increase economic growth and welfare. For instance, a low budget results in lower expenditure for employment placements for unemployed citizens. In conclusion, public transportation should not be free of charge; nevertheless, it should be of low cost in order to keep the economy running.