The age at which people have children has risen. Some people believe that because of this, families and countries will suffer some problems. What is your opinion?

In the modern era, more and more adults tend to get married or have children at the later period of their lives. It is supposed that this trend may bring some potential setbacks to some families and countries. There are various reasons that engender this issue and I shall put forth some ideas in the following paragraphs to explain possible causes and elaborate on some consequences that the society may have to deal with. At first, there are numerous rationales that encourage a youngster to settle down in his later years. For example, a competitive labour market may be one of the core reasons as it is getting more and more sophisticated for a new graduate to find a decent job. Sometimes, it may take months or years for a job seeker to land the first professional position. Moreover, pressure from the family or society may explain the reason why a young man prioritises a steady career over early marriage. Nevertheless, women have become more independent and strived for their own careers compared to previous decades. As a result, highly educated females have more options and are keen on looking for counterparts with equal qualifications. Another reason could be some youngsters want to enjoy their single lives and are not ready to start a long-term relationship. On the other hand, governments and households may face some challenges when more couples delay their marriages and times to have babies. First and foremost, this may be driven by a rapid decrease in the annual number of newborn babies number in a country, which may result in the decline of the future workforce of a country. To exemplify this, Japan is a typical country that suffers from a shortage of workers as more and more adults refuse to get married. As a result, this country has to search for alternative labour forces from other countries to meet the rising demand. Additionally, older women may experience a higher risk of medical complications when they give birth compared to younger females. In conclusion, reasons such as a stable career, the pressure from the family or having more choices may be responsible for the increasing age in getting married or having babies. There are also several potential consequences to both countries and families, and governments need to take appropriate countermeasures to tackle this problem.