In many countries, paying for things using mobile phone (cellphone) apps is becoming increasingly common. Does this development have more advantages or more disadvantages?

In recent decades, we have witnessed radical changes in communication technologies including the development of mobile phone apps that let us make payments for things. In this essay, I will discuss both the positive and negative aspects of this development. One of the main advantages of this payment tool is saving your time, which is especially important in terms of our more mobile lifestyle. You just tap your phone in front of a terminal that means you have approved the transaction. Another great positive of these sophisticated apps is a contactless payment that is regarded as a measure of safety during the pandemic of Covid-19. Finally, when you pay by your phone, you reduce the risk associated with cash which can be lost or stolen. However, there are also drawbacks to using cellphone apps for payments. Firstly, you became more vulnerable in view of an accidental loss or damage of your phone. It is obvious that you will not be able to pay for things in such an emergency. Secondly, hackers could thieve your mobile wallet with access to your bank accounts and, as a result, it could be considered as they stole all your money. Lastly, in case of your phone becomes infected with malware, you would not be able to purchase some necessary things, which could be extremely stressful during your traveling. In conclusion, as can be seen from the points made in this essay, there are both advantages and disadvantages to using mobile phone apps for payments. Whilst there are many advantages to this, namely convenience and the fastest way of payment, possible negative consequences would be a risk of the emergency in case of cellphone deprivation and cybercriminals. If managed in the right way, nevertheless, I feel that overall the advantages would overweigh the disadvantages.