Nowadays parents put too much pressure on their children to succeed. What is the reason for doing this? Is this a negative or positive development?

In the present time, and due to parental pressure, children are under huge stress to achieve more success. This is because mothers and fathers want their youngsters to be more rounded to have a well-off life and a well-paid job. All this stress clearly leads to a negative development of their mental, emotional and physical welfare. The main reason why the guardians pressure their juniors to succeed is that they want them to lead a comfortable life. They hold the belief that if their children are more equipped with different skills and as well as having the highest grades, they will have an academic qualification that guarantees a well-paid job. Therefore, in order to have such skills, children are often overworked with many activities more than they can withstand. For example, according to studies, on average, every child is now enrolled in three different clubs that there is barely any time left to play with friends and enjoy their childhood. Undoubtedly, all this stress leads to significant negative consequences on the young ones’ well-being. Consequently, the juveniles now are more anxious than ever, as a result, their health is affected severely. A good illustration here, is the increasing incidence of eating disorders, Anxiety disorders, depression and violent attitudes in juniors. Clearly, such an environment is destructive for the children’s development, they end up failing at achieving the level of success they aim for as well as they do not enjoy their childhood experience which is essential for developing a healthy adult. In conclusion, the offspring have been dealing with many stresses because parents hold them to very high standards of success. They want them to be more equipped with different skills and high grades, as a result, such stressful demands are not the right way to raise a child and undoubtedly have severe negative impacts on their health and development.