In many parts of the world, it is common for one parent to stay at home and raise a new born child while other works full time to earn money. Do advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, in many parts of the world, there is a phenomenon from a long time ago showing that one of the parents stays at home to raise a newborn child, meanwhile the other parent works full time to cover their needs. This essay will examine both the advantages and disadvantages of this phenomenon and provide a logical conclusion. At the outset, it goes without saying that any taken action has its own repercussions; hence, when one of the parents decides to quit his or her occupation in order to raise the kids, this decision is expected to have some disadvantages. The first one includes sacrificing the profession for a certain time which negatively impacts career performance, as it is clear that to back to your job again is not an easy matter in the current economic situation. Also, another drawback includes adding more pressure on the other family member. To illustrate, if the mother decides to stay from work and the father decides to work for both to cover the family needs, this will require extra effort from his side, for instance, working double shifts, or in two different jobs. In sharp contrast to that, there are pros also for this decision. One of them is focusing completely on raising the children, watching them closely and developing their skills. For example, based on the latest statistics, nonworking moms are able to raise a highly skilled generation rather than working moms. In addition to that, there is also another benefit which is saving money. Let us illustrate, if both parents have an occupation, this means they will have to find someone to take care of the babies; accordingly, they will have to pay more money to find a skilled nanny who fulfils their requirements of raising their children. To conclude, due to the aforementioned reason, we may safely conclude that the positive impact of this phenomenon outweighs its drawbacks; consequently, I encourage one of the main spouses to stay at home and raise the kids to ensure giving them the right direction and full care to raise a generation ensuring the prosperity for the whole society.