Levels of youth crime are increasing rapidly in most cities around the world. What are the reasons for this, and suggest some solutions

The alarming increase of juvenile crime is vigorously discussed in many countries. This negatively affects society, the economy and juveniles' future lives. It is a complex issue with a host of factors like peer pressure, family environment and poverty. The following paragraphs will analyze the reasons for youth crimes and explain how the government can efficiently address this issue by more severe punishments and providing training courses. To commence, youth commit criminal offences mainly due to the ignorance of their parents. In other words, insufficient attention to children by parents can lead to grievous consequences including criminal acts under peer pressure. As a result, these children do not exactly know bad from the good, thus, can easily fall into negative influence. Secondly, poverty can incite teenagers to do illegal acts, for instance, pickpocketing and shoplifting. This could also be avoided if parents properly nurtured their juveniles and educated them. Subsequently, one of the measures of addressing the issue is sharing the punishment between the teenagers and their parents. As a result, parents would take more care of their children. Additionally, I believe that teenagers should have more severe punishments. In turn, other potential juvenile criminals would be afraid to commit offences. On top of that, the government should provide free or affordable training courses to help teenagers from lower-income families gain valuable skills and enter the labour market. For example, they can be taught welding or carpentering. Young people would have opportunities to get employed and have a better quality of life. To conclude, the family environment plays a crucial role in children's behaviour. Unfavourable conditions can push teenagers to commit illegal activities. I believe that the government together with parents can address this issue.