Today, TV channels provide men’s sport shows more than women’s sport shows. Why? Should TV channels give equal time for women’s sport and men’s sport?

Sports shows featuring males are ubiquitous in today’s context, triggering a debate among professionals and the audience. This essay analyzes the culprits behind and demonstrates the author’s personal perspectives on this trend. To start with, there are myriad reasons man sports shows are prioritized on all media platforms. First, sports broadcasters based their content strategy on conventional concepts on gender differences. Men are associated with sports, either as players or spectators. Content distributors deliver male shows to males, the majority of the audience demography accordingly. Second, there is no denying that female sports challenges are set at a lower bar, restricting the exhilarating and dramatic nature. Even a handful of female sports fans secretly give the green light to broadcasters to place a premium on male sports games. Notwithstanding, this prevalent trend and the deep-rooted mindsets behind it should be discouraged on various grounds. On the one hand, long lasted assumptions on males and females’ physical state, endurance, and tactics are being reversed on a daily basis. Not only do females fancy watching sports, but they also get trained to become professionals as intensively as males. Thus, sports programs featuring women should be given more screentime to act as a source of observation and inspiration alongside just pure entertainment. On the other hand, by intensifying the line between males and females in any context, children are conditioned to deem women as inferior. As a slippery slope, from a seed of inequality in their mind, male children grow up to discriminate against females, whereas female children confine themselves in a cage, refusing to explore their potentials. For instance, female athletes might discourage themselves from equally intensive training schedules as males, not fully aware of how destructive self-restriction is in the sports world. To conclude, there are ample comprehensible but inexcusable reasons for the favour on sports shows starring men, the demerits of which outweigh any imaginable merits.