In some countries, criminal trials are shown on television for the public. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Criminal proceedings are broadcast on television for the general public in certain countries. In my opinion, while this may create awareness about judicial proceedings, the drawbacks of this practice outweigh the benefits. Admittedly, there are some advantages to showing criminal trials on television. This creates awareness among the common people about the procedures involved in the trial. It also enables people to learn about the various provisions of the law. For example, in most countries, a murder committed in self-defence is not punishable. When people watch these shows they become aware of such aspects of the law. Sometimes the airing of trial procedures also enables people to get justice faster. In many countries, judicial procedures are extremely slow and sometimes it takes several years for victims to get justice. When people learn about such delays through these programmes, they may demand speedy delivery of justice. Nevertheless, the downsides of this practice are more dangerous. For example, it could teach criminals ways to escape from punishment and might also violate human rights. As part of the court hearing, detailed visualization of the crime scene would be given. Potential criminals may plot similar crimes after watching these proceedings. They may also learn about the loopholes in the law that would help them to get away. Another imperative concern is that sometimes young children could be the victim or the culprit. In both cases, showing their faces or family members during the trials may cause psychological disturbance in them as well as in society. They may face bullying or isolation from the people who watched them on TV. Thus, the public hearing on national television tutors the criminals about the loopholes in the system and psychologically affects the victims and the accused. In conclusion, although there are merits to both sides of this argument, I think that the damage that could happen due to the airing of criminal proceedings would have more detrimental effects on society than the benefits.