In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, the issue of automated driving systems has been attracted the public’s attention. Some experts believe that this sophisticated modern technology provides positive impacts to commuters, while others oppose that the software of autonomous car need further reassuring experiments. Personally, even though this development has some drawbacks, I am convinced that there are a great number of benefits. On the one side of the argument, there is a wide range of merits associated with self-driving cars, firstly, a human error could be mitigated since computers minimise the possibility of the human-factor mistake and distractions whilst driving. A google self-driving car project in 2009, for instance, had been proved that serious accidents could be prevented thanks to an effective software; thus, we can save thousand lives from this lost. Additionally, no one can deny that hands-free driving genuinely generates the environmental-friendly society because it is likely to rely on an electric power rather than utilising internal-combustion engines. For example, several autonomous driving manufacturers such as Apple, Tesla and Google considerably emphasise on implementing renewable energy resulting in reducing CO2 emissions. Turning to the other side of the argument, the negative impact cannot be overlooked. The most concerning demerit is machine error, while people agree an autopilot system would tend to prevent more accidents from happening, it does not totally eliminate the risk of circumstance caused by program faults. To illustrate, CNN reported that the recent crash of a Tesla car in the United States, in which two people die, had reignited debate about the capabilities and safety of today’s “self-driving” technologies. Therefore, additional studies towards this development are required until the software is perfectly stable to be used on transport infrastructure. In conclusion, I would like to reiterate the benefits of hands-free driving far outstrips the disadvantage. Although there is potential demerit, it outweighs the positives. If we prefer to adopt autonomous vehicles to use in the daily life, several companies need to collaborate to find the solution.