Environment protection should be the responsibility of politicians, not indiviuals as individuals can do too little. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

These days, who is responsible for environmental protection is a controversial topic. While environmental protection should be responsible to governments and large companies, I cannot entirely agree with the view since individuals ’ efforts to preserve the environment should be underestimated. The prevailing view is that environmental issues are global and need to be addressed by governments, public interest organisations and NGOs and that the power of the individual is too small to make a difference. Like global warming, it is not a regional catastrophe and requires all authorities to work together to plan improvements, bear the costs and share the risks, whereas individuals cannot afford to spend so much and do not have the think tanks to tackle the problem. Nevertheless, it is not only large economies, such as corporate groups, that have a social responsibility to protect the environment but also individuals, who share the same sky, have an obligation to make changes where they can. There are many things that individuals can do to improve the environment, such as separating waste properly, not using plastic bags, even taking public transport more often, and implementing environmental policies set by authorities. More importantly, if everyone acts, then what would otherwise be a weak individual force will converge into a significant social force that will rival the governments. In conclusion, I reiterate my view that while governments and large corporations are undoubtedly more responsible and capable of protecting the environment, individuals can also make their own contribution to improving the environment, rather than just relying on institutions and enjoying the fruits of their actions.