Some people believe that bicycles are the best mode of transport in the cities, while others disagree. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of both views.

In this day and age, people living in cities are facing many problems to move from one place to another. Resultantly, whereas some individuals claim that cycles can be the best mode of transportation in towns, others contend that it is not suitable for cities. This is because much as bicycles are conducive to increasing physical fitness and moving independently, these cannot be used during bad weather conditions and in the case of an emergency. On the one hand, riding bicycles is helpful in that people, nowadays, cannot budget enough time to do physical exercises. So, if cities’ individuals could ride cycles for going to their workplaces or educational institutions, it would help them to maintain their physical fitness. To cite an example, 98% of Dutch people do not suffer from serious health diseases, such as diabetes, heart attack, to name but a few because since their childhood, they have chosen two-wheelers as a mode of transport. As well as that, cycling is beneficial in large cities because people can ride their bikes in a separate lane and do not have to wait in traffic jams. In this way, they can save their valuable time and produce more quality tasks. On the other hand, one of the predominant drawbacks of riding cycles is that they cannot be used in extreme weather conditions, viz. dog days of summer, heavy rainfall and such like. If individuals go out of their homes by riding bikes, they usually have to face many health-related issues. To exemplify, an empirical study conducted by Oxford University found that 90% of cyclists experienced heat stroke in 1990 down to riding cycles in the scorching heat of the Sun. Apart from that inasmuch as through bicycles, moving from one area to another takes a long time, it is not an appropriate mode of transport during any emergency case. Hence, bikes cannot be the best transportation mode in every situation. In conclusion, even though cycles are considered advantageous for keeping people fit and moving without any traffic tension, people cannot use cycles in any urgent cases and bad weather conditions.