Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the above statement? What other measures do you think might be effective?

Options are divided as to whether raising the cost of gasoline is the best direction to solve the problem of traffic congestion and climate pollution. In my opinion, it would defi- nitely make the matters worse if the cost of fuel is increased. There are several reasons why I would argue against the impact of increased gasoline prices on car users. First, higher fuel prices will result in inflation in every respect, includ- ing salary, food prices, travel expenses, commodity prices, and even the interest rate. This means that people will still use their automobiles because they have a higher income to compensate for the increased fuel price. With this scenario, traffic conditions and pol- lution emissions will remain the same. For instance, in Thailand, the number of personal automobiles increase every year, although the government would have been controlling by increasing the fare of gasoline. On the other hand, there are other approaches that may be more efficient and effective. I believe that the problem is better tackled using electricity-powered vehicles and a prop- er public transportation system. It helps reduce the amount of carbon dioxide carbon and encourage people to use their personal vehicles. Moreover, the government should invest more in repairing and maintaining roads as well as constructing new roads to solve the problem of traffic congestion. Furthermore, the scientists should search for the source of clean energy such as solar power and nuclear power to replace the fossil fuel. In conclusion, I believe that things would get worse if the price of petrol is increasing.