The gap between the rich and the poor is growing. What problems does this create? What can be done to tackle them?

Some countries like Russia, the USA, and South Korea are facing an issue of social disparity between rich and poor people. This phenomenon leads to a number of socio-economic issues like crime prevalence and desperate living conditions of a segment of society. The following paragraphs will analyse the reasons for the increased gap between rich and poor and explain how an affordable education together with a minimum wage policy can effectively address this issue. To commence with, poor people cannot enjoy the same standard of living as the majority of people in society. First of all, this is unfair because the wealth of a country is distributed unequally among the citizens. As a result, some people have to live in inhumane conditions trying to cover their basic needs while others spend thousands of dollars on their luxurious lifestyles. Secondly, impoverished people may turn to crime to meet their needs like accommodation, food and education. Substantially, crime rates increase, altering the country into an unsafe place to live. In terms of solutions, I believe that the government is largely responsible. Firstly, education should be made free or affordable to empower poor people. For example, in Sweden, there is almost no gap between wealthy and impoverished people. All due to free education for Sweden citizens. After getting degrees, everyone can get equal chances to get employed and start accumulating wealth. This is beneficial for both individuals and the economy. Adding further, governments should introduce an adequate amount of minimum wage. This can ensure that people can work and cover at least their basic needs. To conclude, if special measures are not taken to address the social disparity, this problem will only escalate. I believe that the government can tackle this issue by creating favourable conditions to study.