Traffic congestion is becoming a huge problem for many major cities. Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce traffic in big cities.

These days, the majority of big cities are suffering from traffic jams. This essay will discuss several ways that can be taken by the governments to tackle this issue. Several measures can be taken to encourage people to use public transportation rather than their private vehicles. One of the most significant methods is that the authorities should invest more money in order to replace old buses and trains with brand-new and facilitated BRT, trams, and undergrounds. They should arrange a new strict precise timetable for all of the public transportation to assure individuals can reach their destination on time. Another principal method is that citizens should be aware of the detrimental impacts of air pollution due to the traffic congestion such as creating adverts that demonstrate the emergence of chronic diseases and the message of how we can prevent them. Also, they should be informed about the positive effects of utilizing public transportation, carpooling, and biking. For instance,, in many developed countries, such as the Netherlands, people would rather drive a bicycle as a good way to escape from traffic jams, and they prefer to drive their cars in urgent situations. Furthermore, commuters can be discouraged from driving their private vehicles. To begin with, the states can increase the tax for someone who drives a car more than certain hours during a day, this can lead people to cut down the amount of time they drive a car. In addition, if the authorities add to the price of petroleum, fewer individuals will be able to afford it for their daily consumption so they prefer to commute by public transportation. Thus, the more they are decreasing the usage of private cars the more they can realize the benefits of public transportation. In conclusion, there are some steps that can be taken by the governments to stimulate people to travel more through buses, subways, and bicycles as well as other strategies which cause citizens reluctant to drive their private cars.