In many countries, people now wear western-style dress such as suits and jeans rather than traditional clothing. Why is this? Is this a positive or negative development?

People across the nation nowadays prefer wearing modern outfits such as jeans, suits rather than traditional attire. This essay presents some reasons behind this shift and argues why wearing a western dress is more beneficial. Individuals are influenced more by how anybody thinks about them rather than family members and peers. Many wear trending outfits such as jeans, suits, sneakers, loafers just in order to confirm a social expectation and those who try to wear outdated styled clothing are seen on the lower level of the social hierarchy. For example, youngsters who wear kurtas and pyjamas, in India, are made of by those who avoid wearing such apparel. Consequently, in order to avoid getting humiliated, they also start wearing the latest outfits. So, social acceptance and the common notion of what he/she would think of me prevents people from choosing old-fashioned clothing. Celebrities and models play a huge role in this shift of trend. Western film stars and musicians, not only promote modern apparel on social media websites but also in magazines and newspapers. For instance, a study conducted revealed that half of the Times of India newspaper is filled with photos and advertisements of actors, actresses in the most trendy outfit. People especially youngsters, are not able to discern the real cause behind why such advertisements are promoted by local newspapers, and hence they follow the crowd without ever questioning. Therefore, media is also one of the reasons behind people valuing the latest patterns more. To conclude, I believe that in order to fulfil the expectations of others individuals are more likely to not wear old dressing styles, which is not wrong in the present era.