In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

In different cultural backgrounds, children are educated in various ways. In some countries, children are told that as long as they work hard enough, they will end up achieving anything. In this essay, I will analyse the advantages and disadvantages of having this mindset. Firstly, telling children to try hard helps them develop a positive attitude towards difficulties. This mindset motivates them to search for methods to overcome obstacles. Take preparing for a test as an example, when children meet a concept that is hard to understand and master, the children with a positive attitude will initially find methods to solve it and learn a lot during the process. The children with a negative one, instead, are more likely to give up straight away. In the long run, the children with a belief that all problems can be fixed will develop more confidence and accumulate more problem-solving methods. Therefore, this educational theory has the benefit of forming a positive personality. On the flip side, this mindset may lead children to ignore the fact that only having diligence is not enough to fix problems. Before devoting time and energy to one thing, it is important to justify that it is effective. People who are seeking jobs, for instance, often pay attention to refining their resume blindly by highlighting their previous achievements. However, people equipped with the practical skills needed by the targeted companies stand out in the view of HR. If children don't realize the significance of evaluating the decisions in advance, in the end, they probably question the effectiveness of being diligent. Thus, over-highlighting the value of trying hard also has the drawback of missing the importance of making a wise choice. Above all, while giving children this message helps society and parents raise the children with a willingness to face obstacles, it misleads children into believing that diligence is the only essential quality. To make sure children are able to have a better life in the future, both society and parents should tell them that working hard is essential, but only having this is not enough.