Children nowadays spend a great deal of time watching television. However, television cannot replace the book as a learning tool, which is why children are less well-educated today. To what extent do you agree with statement?

In the globalization era, digital platforms are slowly replaced conventional ones. This also happened to the learning media when the internet and television dominated books as knowledge sources for the kids. However, as much as television could provide such facilities, I personally believe that conventional literature should still become the major source of learning. To begin with, digital audio-visual tools indeed provides a more interesting way of learning for minors. In addition to that, it also gives multiple sensory stimuli to the learner, such as sounds, graphics, and colours. Thus, it would make the youngsters able to learn in longer durations, if compared to read a book. For example, kids will become more excited when learning with an educational cartoon, because it integrated some fun music and colourful animations so that the program will be more interactive for them and make their attention span increase. On the other hand, the use of this digital audio-visual platform also brings ample disadvantages to them. The downsides are mainly because of the broad type of programs broadcasted from it. Firstly, there are a lot of broadcasting sessions outside the educational ones that will bring negative influence to the minors. Moreover, if both the parents are working full time, they will have a hard time controlling which one their children should watch and which one they should not. For instance, aside from scientific broadcasting, television has movies and all sorts of entertainment sessions which are not suitable for the youngsters to watch. Secondly, even though there are significant more programs on TV, they usually do not cover deeper knowledge as the books. They usually cover only some superficial parts of the topics. Furthermore, conventional literature could give the youngsters more rooms to develop their imagination and creativity. In fact, most of the time, youth tend to imagine what happened in the book they are reading. As a result, it makes reading books more fun for them than learning from TV. In summary, because the disadvantages overweigh the positive points, I strongly agree that books should still become the pivotal tools for children education. However, digital audio-visual could still be integrated as a part of the process since it also gives some additional value to the youth.