It is important for children to learn what is right and what is wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn the distinction. To what extent do you agree? What sort of punishment should be given?

In recent days, psychologists and parents have been trying to figure out suitable ways to teach children the difference between the accepted and unaccepted actions. Although some believe that punishment is the perfect means towards achieving this goal in early childhood, others deter the idea of applying any sort of punishment at young stages. I partially agree with both sides as there should be a tendency of punishing children only in specific situations and with certain means. In this essay, I will discuss both views and declare my opinion thoroughly. Conventional parents and psychologists support physical punishment as a paramount procedure in educating the offspring on the distinction between wrong and right actions. This appears as they claim that hitting children when they do a mistake have a rapid and permanent effect on their conduct. According to Freud’s theories, connecting pain with certain actions leads to remarkable resentment to these actions. While a child can be given gifts when doing something good, he or she’s bad attitude or manner should be met with rapid painful reactions to change their attitude towards that unaccepted manner. Therefore, this kind of traditional thinking could have a rapid change in attitudes towards the accepted code of behaviour though I believe that the psychological trauma created by this type of punishment is hard to eliminate. On the contrary, opponents to this traditional educational thinking believe that there are more effective educational means than punishment that help children to learn what is right and what is wrong. These modern mentors and psychologists support replacing punishment with motivation because it possesses a more important influence on offspring’s manners than punishment. Most Canadian parents, for instance, are proved to be the best in the world in raising well-behaved children due to their dependence on awarding the good manner rather than punishing the wrong behaviour. Another important reason why these educators are against physical punishment is because of the drastic psychological effects on youngsters. These impacts appear in their older ages through alienation and inner insecurity. Thus, awarding the right behaviours and motivating children to avoid doing the wrong ones have less psychological effects on youngsters’ inner security and raises their confidence when they choose to be discipline in a world of contradictions.