Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with?

Some people believe that advertisements enhance frivolous shopping, which is not necessary, while others think that they provide information about the new entries in the market, which can make our life easier and more comfortable. This essay will discuss both sides of the argument, followed by my own perspective. To begin with, people think that the advertisement is persuading people to buy unnecessary products by making connections between products and peoples’ desired qualities. By the use of many celebrities to display commodities in the commercials, companies are trying to convince potential customers that owning the products could help you have some characteristics as those celebrities, such as beauty, handsomeness, luxury lifestyle, admirable, higher social status. If the advertisement works for many celebrities’ followers, unneeded products will be purchased. Moreover, people who do not like celebrities but have friends who do like them will also be influenced by peer pressure and start to buy products. As a result, the advertisements successfully persuaded many customers to purchase things that they don’t need. On the flip side, some commercials indeed provide people with correct and beneficial information about certain products. Under the efforts of research and development in companies, many breakthrough products have been launched to the market, such as high-tech kitchen compliances and other home compliances. The advertisements of these projects give buyers various choices to meet their individual needs at better prices. For an instance, a commercial about convenience kitchen blenders helps households to know the existence of a better machine and even consider getting one. Once they buy it, they will spend less time making cups of delicious juice for the whole family, enjoying the efficiency of a healthier diet. To sum up, in my opinion, the production and display of commercials should be properly regulated to avoid the negative effects brought by over-advertising and frivolous buying, especially for those luxury products. However, when it comes to well-regulated advertisements with good intentions, it does help to improve people ’s daily lives.