Television advertising is aimed at children nowadays. Should television advertising for children be controlled?

In this day and age, children usually spend their leisure time watching TV and a number of advertisements are now towards them, so it is claimed that these kinds of ads should be restricted. I definitely support this suggestion. It is indisputable that these advertisements do bring some merits as they propagate market information to the kids and thus the whole family. Nowadays some of the industries in food and drinks are monopolized by several big corporations. It is stiff for products which have the same or even better quality than the counterparts of monopolistic firms to obtain public attention, and advertising the lesser-known products on TV could augment their popularity and boost sales. In addition, children are actually more curious and concerned about the latest items like smartwatches and tend to try them, while adults are more likely to ignore them. Posting the corresponding information of the newest products to the young can increase the popularity of products dramatically, contributing to economic growth. However, on no account can we ignore the drawbacks of this behaviour, especially for kids. As in most commercials, firms often exaggerate the benefits of such products while whitewashing the downsides, which means one has to search for additional information on the Internet to have an objective view of such objects and thus assess the necessity of purchasing them. On the other hand, not having a well-developed mind and awareness of double-checking, kids may just be blown away by the words in those misleading advertisements. Combining the fact that most children gain their smartphones and money at a very young age, they may just buy those unnecessary things, leading to various problems like family arguments. In a nutshell, though advertising products to children can incentivize and boost the economy, there should still be some restrictions to make sure the advertisements are objective and reliable.