After graduation many students take a year to travel. Some think that it would be more useful to work for a year. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The notion of graduates taking a year off for visiting new places has become progressively contentious as some believe that time should be devoted to working in lieu of travelling. In my opinion, whilst their viewpoint seems legitimate, spending time on leisure activities is more rewarding. The most frequently cited rationale for working in this interim period is the cultivation of a strong work ethic. This argument rests on the fact that when an individual starts engaging in employment, they would allow no space for bad habits. This can be most apparently seen in myriad freshers doing part- time jobs, who have to follow orders, be on time, work diligently, get along with co-workers, show initiative, and make ends meet with little pay. This is purely the moulding process of adulthood, which necessitates one to reconcile their own desires at large. Therefore, employment during the gap year confers a valid standpoint as students, who opt working, would become disciplined and well-cultivated. Albeit conceding the presented merits of early employment after graduation, I would still contend that travelling to new destinations is a valuable way to spend the gap year. This is predicated on the assumption that most people acclimate to work either at university or after graduation and are offered few chances to enjoy themselves. One of the salient illustrations of this is often experienced in the current time when the average person has been working or studying their entire life and neglected the ability to enjoy leisure. To fully enjoy travelling or going on holiday, one ought to set aside future worries, live the moment, get outside the comfort zone, horn a wide breadth of skills and recharge. Thus, these beneficial habits are preferable because as soon as the work responsibility and family get in the way, they might not be able to travel as flexible as they want. In conclusion, the work value instilled by this idea cannot outweigh its benefits to students' diversionary experience. In my final thought, graduates should have a more holistic approach in order to strike some balance between work and personal leisure during their time off.