All fathers should be entitled to time-off from work when their children are born. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is thought that fathers should get time off from work when their babies are born. This essay agrees with the fact as it will be a step towards gender equality. Additionally, it will ease off some responsibilities of the mother. Dads do not get much time with their newborn babies due to their work. As a result, they miss important events related to the growth of their children, like their first walk or their first words. This can demotivate some fathers as they are working so hard for their children. Giving them leave will help them spend more time with their young ones. This could further inspire them to work harder. Additionally, they will be able to help their wives who are recovering from childbirth. Furthermore, companies will move closer towards gender equality, as everyone regardless of gender would get time off in case of childbirth in their families. However, in most cases companies cannot offer both Paternity and Maternity leave otherwise they will not be able to function well, especially in the time of crisis, as these leaves would mean fewer people to run the company. In these harsh times, it makes sense to only give maternity leave as mothers are unable to work before and after few months of childbirth and they have to feed their babies. Therefore, dads should take responsibility for earning for the family. In conclusion, I believe that giving paternal leave will help us get closer to gender equality and fathers will get more time to connect themselves with their newborn babies.