In many countries imprisonment is the most common solution to crimes. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Putting people behind the bars for their wrongdoings is often considered to lessen the crime rate in many places. In my view, a jail sentence alone cannot bring down felony happening in society. Governments have to implement laws and systems for the prevention of crime before it happens. There is no doubt that imprisonment is a good way of punishing wrongdoers. But the laws in most of the countries are very lenient that they provide certain loopholes for the criminals to escape. Even people who do the most heinous lawlessness have a chance to walk free. To point out, corrupt government officials are a good example of this. They use power and money to hide their offences. As a result of this common man lose their trust in the public system. Moreover, imprisonment can impact the mental health of prisoners in a negative way. While jailed, the petty criminals have a chance to be exposed to serious law offenders and may follow in their footsteps. Further,staying away from family and friends cause depression and loneliness, giving a negative approach to life. In view of this, governments should enact a charter to prevent misdeeds in society before it happens. Youth should be provided with more employment opportunities and asylum should be provided to the needy. A stable economy can reduce crime rates to a great extent. While, serving the term, the public should be trained in jobs and offered recreational facilities for their mental well being. Additionally, after,release the offenders should have a proper support system and monitoring so that they don't go back to their old selves again. To conclude, jail sentence remains the most common punishment in our penal system. Nevertheless, the government should enact laws and systems for the well being of folks who are punished. This helps to reduce crimes in society.