Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, many diseases stem from over-consumption of processed foods which contain a significantly high proportion of sugar. It is reasonable to increase the price of these sugar -based products, which may be beneficial for people ’s health. One of the main reasons for eating too much sugar is that such products have a lower cost. In many restaurants in the United States, customers are able to have free refills when buying beverages such as cokes or sodas. Therefore, the majority of people have two or three glasses of coke for their meal. If restaurants stop offering free refills and increase 20% of tax on these sugary ones, people are more likely to stop drinking one at all, let alone have a second one. Increasing price of sugar -based products might help to save a large number of people from obesity and diabetes, which are the most common health problems in recent years. This price regulation may also promote people to choose a healthier alternative. This is because if the price rises to the point which is quite expensive, customers may consider buying it infrequently, instead, they may opt for a more affordable one. For instance, if a strawberry-flavoured beverage cost three times as a box of fresh strawberries, consumers may go for the fresh version, which is cheaper and healthier. Fresh fruits also have sugar, however, natural sugar is much better than the added one. To conclude, I am one of the proponents that increasing the cost of sweetened processed food may deter people from using it regularly. This will be beneficial for their well-being in the long run by reducing the number of sugar -related health problems.