• Some people say that E-books and modern technology will totally replace traditional newspaper and magazines to what extent do you agree or disagree. • Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

There is no doubt that the news industry has drastically changed over the last decade with the advancement of technology. While some believe that modern technology is the future and traditional paper is no longer necessary, others deny it. In this essay, I will discuss why I believe that there is still value in printed paper and magazines and e-books though are in use a lot they have limited benefits. The main point to consider is that newspaper does not require any sophisticated, technical equipment to read. This offers a reader a high level of flexibility and can be read at any place at any time. In the Uk, for instance, it has been observed that many people read newspapers while commuting to and from work. One may have just enough time to go through the headlines in the morning and then he may go through the news which interests him later on and the reader can absorb the information offered at his own pace. Another important point is that the local information such as local reports, a listing of movies and entertainment in the local area, news of local sporting events and other events in the local area are best assessed through printed material. Hence, readers are best equipped about their surroundings and area by newspaper only. Adding to it, many parts of the world are still out of reach of new technology and gadgets. Undoubtedly, the appetite for news and the internet is growing day by day. The average person grasps information from a variety of sources such as mobile, TV or radio, and from magazines and newspapers. In recent research in the USA, for example, it was revealed that 80% of adults would like to read on kindle. However, it is irrefutable that the technical potential of the internet greatly surpasses that of the printed material. The internet can provide regular updates, access to archives, rapid access to a number of journals and being paperless is eco-friendly. Nevertheless, I still believe that printed newspaper is the head of all other news media sources. To conclude, although e-books and online newspapers and magazines are in fashion these days, the importance of printed material is undeniable. They both can be used together and in my opinion, modern technology has not declined the circulation of printed press and magazines.