Some students prefer to take a gap year between high school and university , to work or to travel . Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages ?

Whether the high school senior should have a year -long break before attending university education or not causes some considerations. The writer of this essay claims that the benefit of gaining experiences alongside identifying a suitable career path will outweigh the drawback of peer pressure. When it comes to taking a gap year, the experiences which can be earned from this period should be taken into account. That is to say, as students who complete their high school education decide to spend time exploring the world around them, it is obvious that they will get exposed to different cultures and aspects of life which undoubtedly enrich their experience. Therefore, with that substantial information in mind, they can use these for not only their study after 1- year break but also the entire period. Taking youngsters in Vietnam as a primary example, recent research shows that more and more students after finishing 12 years ofyear school period tend to become gap year takers which results in the improvement of their studying quality later. Another benefit which can be recognised is that the decision to defer university enrollment can help students shape the right view about their career path. To explain further, throughout this duration, the gap year taker will have chances to witness many practical experiences which are relevant to their occupation in the future. That is not to mention, they also can abuse this period to hone their skills or at least cultivate relevant job skills. Thus, with that preparation, they can land a decent job later. Nevertheless, some people believe that the pressure from peers which is the consequence of this break should be mentioned. To put it in other words, an individual who decides to delay the university education after coming back to formal schooling may face the stress that comes from peers as a result of a lack of knowledge. However, it is not always the case since this gap - year taker can find suitable approaches with experience gained from the break year so that they can adjust to catch up with their friends. As a result, sooner or later, they will come back to the race. In conclusion, even though taking a gap year might lead to peer pressure, it is likely to bring beneficial values to high senior students such as experience and good career guidance