Science finds that by studying the behavior of three-year old children they can predict if they will grow up to be criminals. To what extent is criminality related to human nature? Is it possible to stop children from being a criminal when they grow up?

It may be possible to predict scientifically if children will grow up and turn to crime. While this may suggest some link to human nature, I believe that children all have the chance to grow up and become law-abiding citizens. It seems absurd to condemn children as evil criminals at the age of 3. Parents have an enormous influence on shaping a child’s values during the formative years of a child’s life. Children often copy, or are influenced by, the patterns of behaviour which they observe in their parents. For example, in a dysfunctional family there is often a lack of parental involvement in the upbringing of children. The failure to teach ethical values such as honesty and concern for others, may combine with social factors such as living in deprived neighbourhoods so that children are already damaged as they prepare to enter adult life. It is possible to deter children from embarking on a life of crime. Firstly, in schools, ex-prisoners who have served their sentences and been re-integrated back into the community should be invited to talk about their experiences and warn children that it is not glamorous to be a criminal. This is already done in some schools in the UK, for instance. Secondly, all adults in society have a responsibility to provide children with good role models. Modern consumer culture has a negative influence on individual families, with the result that children learn that it is more important to have things than to be a good member of the community. In conclusion, if criminal behaviour is linked to human nature, then there is no hope for young children who are identified as criminals by some ‘experts’. On the contrary, children can be led away from a life of crime.