Research has shown that overeating is as harmful as smoking. Therefore, the advertising of certain food products should be banned in the same way as the advertising of cigarettes in some countries. To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

Currently, people are arguing that since overeating is proven to bring the homogenous unfavourable impacts to people compared to smoking, several certain food ’s advertising should be forbidden as that of cigarettes in some nations. From my personal perspective, I am well convinced that while the former statement holds a compelling notion, banning food ’s advertising is not a good term as expected. It is irrefutable to note that overeating wreaks havoc on people's physical conditions. Obviously, this phenomenon may contribute to an eclectic mix of undesirable health issues. In other words, consuming a redundant amount of food is one of the immense determinants which result in the hike in blood pressure. Therefore, people may easily be vulnerable to relentless stress conditions as well as symptoms, namely headache, or even fatal one like heart stroke, which are as harmful as smoking. Moreover, the excess in food intake as well as those which are unhealthy may also lead to obesity. In specific, there is an undeniable fact that the number of people who are suffering from fat is hovering drastically, which makes them involved in illnesses. Coca Cola, an acclaimed soft drink that contains numerous amounts of sugar, can be cited as a viable instance. While the inevitable downsides of overeating are widely acknowledged, it is not an effective solution to inhibit some food products’ advertising. It is a common norm to state that advertising plays a paramount significant role as a tool for the potential customers to refer to the ingredients and foods that they want to purchase. As a result, banning all the advertising may relatively act as a disturbance to people, instead, they can just make a decision themself whether or not to buy harmful foods. What’s more, without the advertising, the lucrative profit of a wealth of food -related firms may experience a dramatic fall. Hence, it may negatively impact a nation’s prosperity. To sum up, I am of the opinion that consuming a wave of food may do harm to people ’s health. However, in lieu of abandoning advertising, people should have the right to decide themself.