The older generations tend to have very traditional ideas about how people should live, think and behave. However, some people believe that these ideas are not helpful in preparing younger generations for modern life. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

Globalisation and technology have changed almost every aspect of human life.A chunk of individuals opines that older values are not relevant to modern life whilst others are sceptical about it.I, however believe that some traditional ideas are outdated while others are still useful and should not be forgotten. To begin with,many ideas that our older generation have are not applicable to younger generations. For instance,in past, people were forced to learn a profession and find a secure job for life,but today workers expect much variety and diversity from their careers. Moreover,rules around relationships drastically changed as young adults make their own choices such as who and when to marry. In addition,significant changes in attitudes towards gender roles. For instance,traditional roles for men or women as breadwinners and housewives,are no longer accepted as necessary or appropriate by younger generations. On the other hand,some traditional values are still applicable the modern society. For example,older generations give great importance to hardworking to achieve success in life,taking pride in one’s work and this behaviour surely can benefit the younger generation as nowadays competition is increasing. In addition,other characteristics perhaps seen as traditional are politeness and good manners. For instance,these days people expect to come into contact with people variety of backgrounds and now it is imperative to treat others with respect. Finally, I believe that young people would lead happier lives if they had a more ‘old-fashioned’ sense of community and neighbourliness. In conclusion, although some views of elders people unhelpful today world but you should not dismiss all traditional ideas as irrelevant.