With the increasing use of and development of new technology, many machines are now able to do the work which people use to perform. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Thanks to rapid developments in novel technology, many machines working on-site have proven to achieve better performance results with greater efficiency than human workers can. This trend of automation provides huge benefits to the industrial production line and many means of transportation, but it also contains a few underlying consequences. For the first of advantages, factories use automated machines in the majority of the production line mainly because these machines can complete an assigned task repeatedly and constantly. In addition, machines can perform their tasks with great efficiency, high precision, and can recognize faults that the unaided eye can’t see. With the correctly programmed tasks, these robots can produce high-quality products in a significantly short amount of time. Secondly, the advent of self-driving cars has once again proven that robots work better than humans do. Although in testing, modern autonomous vehicles employ state-of-the-art technology to transport their passengers safely to their destinations. Benefits in industry and transportation are just two of the wide range of applications of automation. Despite these positives, implementing modern machines can pose negative changes, which includes the loss of jobs. For example, although having more machines in factories is useful, this could cause thousands of workers to lose their current jobs because machines are undeniably more effective. Moreover, artificial intelligence is gradually replacing the services industry and education. This threatens the role of teachers and waiters at restaurants in the near future. In conclusion, modern machines assist the development of industries as much as they damage the workforce.