There are several factors that motivate people to stay in the workforce. Among them, money is the most important factor. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As financial compensation is undoubtedly a crucial motivator to employees, the question of whether or not their loyalty is based exclusively on monetary considerations has garnered widespread interest. A common belief that many people, myself included, advocate is that this idea is myopic, and there exist diverse motivations that drive individuals to remain in the workforce. Proponents of the primacy of money overstate the material benefits it confers upon those in the pursuit of a comfortable and fulfilling life. This myopic idea, of course, fails to factor in the state of being burnt out, which is physical, and mental exhaustion from prolonged exposure to excessive work demands. Under this circumstance, those who trade off their health for work may end up with chronic health issues, namely heart disease and obesity. This is why a healthy work -life balance contributes significantly to job satisfaction for many, and they are willing to forgo higher salaries if compromises on their health are inevitable. What is more, besides health concerns, career progression and rapports with colleagues may also outweigh monetary benefits. With regard to the former, employees would be more dedicated to a certain profession providing career advancement opportunities, as they understand that these experiences not only enrich their lives but also make them more marketable in the long run. This is particularly true in the case of many ride-hailing service workers namely Uber or Lyft who view their job as temporary despite its handsome pay. As far as the latter is concerned, a strong relationship with their colleagues can foster workers’ sense of belonging and a deeper connection to the organization and contribute to job loyalty. In conclusion, I vehemently oppose the notion that money is the foremost determinant of people’s engagement in their work, considering the importance of health, career ladder and relationship factor to a career. To reduce it to a singular emphasis on money is to oversimplify the rich tapestry of human motivations in the world of work.