Shopping is the favourite pastime for most of the young people. Why do you think is that? Do you think they should be encouraged to do some other useful activities?

Shopping is one of the most preferred ways to spend leisure time among the younger population, however, I strongly think that these individuals should also pursue other activities as well. This essay will discuss both of these views and give explanations to support my argument. To begin, there are several potential reasons that can make shopping the favourite way for the youth to spend their pastime. Firstly, the act of shopping can act as a coping mechanism that these individuals often employ as a method to reduce stress and relax. For example, spending time with their peers and engaging in events outside of working hours at commercial centres can significantly stimulate positive energy, therefore, allowing them to recharge and relieve pressure from the workplaces. Moreover, getting involved in tasks to shop can be a way for youth to express themselves and establish their identity. For instance, through the act of purchasing different clothing items, the younger generation can convey their culture, their values and express their taste in fashion. On the other hand, although shopping has proven to be very popular among the younger generation, I think it is necessary that they also participate In other tasks that can be beneficial for them. Young people can take part in active sports or physical activities in a group setting. These events can enable them to strengthen their body and mind while also create opportunities for them to make new friends and learn how to work in a team. Moreover, engaging in other hobbies will also allow these individuals to expand their knowledge and gain a more comprehensive understanding of their surrounding environment For instance, joining science clubs can help the young to discover exciting knowledge of the world and encourage them to pursue a career in STEM in the future. In conclusion, there are several factors that propel young people to shop in their unoccupied time, however, I believe that they should restrict themselves to certain levels in this engagement and pursuit other hobbies as well that can be beneficial for them in the long run.