In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. Why is this the case? What can be done about this problem?

With exceptional technological advancement in the agriculture sector, humans now can produce various types of agricultural products quickly and efficiently. However, the lack of foodstuff is still omnipresent and it is still considered one of the greatest challenges of many local authorities. There are various reasons that may be responsible for this problem and I shall put forth some ideas to exemplify some rationales and propose some possible solutions to tackle this issue. At first, food waste may be one of the main causes that lead to inadequate foodstuff in many parts of the world. In fact, the amount of food waste or food surplus in developed countries is surprisingly high and tons of edible products are wasted daily in these areas. In rich nations with a high living standard, the general price of groceries is quite low and affordable to most citizens. As a result, some consumers tend to remove products that they are no longer interested in as they can purchase them at any time. Another reason that contributes to this problem could be the effect of climate change. The population number has increased sharply in recent years and the urbanization phenomenon has been more popular across the globe. Hence, in order to meet the housing demand of the rising population, businesses and authorities have destroyed numerous rain forests and damaged the ecosystem. Natural disasters such as floods, drought or typhoons have been more popular which cause a great loss of agricultural production in many nations. As a result, this may affect negatively the amount of food production and contribute to the increase in hunger. On the other hand, decent countermeasures need to be taken in order to tackle this global issue. Governments need to implement strict policies to protect and preserve nature, forests and farming land. Moreover, administrations need to relocate human and financial resources to the agricultural sector in order to boost the production process. There should be some regulations or punishments regarding food waste in order to raise the awareness of youngsters and decline the amount of food waste annually. In conclusion, there are various factors such as climate change and food waste that may contribute to the increase in the adequate food supply in many countries. Governments need to take appropriate measures to embrace this challenge