Government should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement.

It is often said that the funds should be allocated for the development of railways instead of roadways. I strongly disagree with the statement and this essay will discuss the reasons for my disagreement. Firstly, the reason why the money should be utilized by the government on roads instead of railways is the scope of development in roads. It means the railways at present, are well developed and established all across the nations and requires no immediate funds for its advancement. The roads however, are used by the majority of people to commute distances and can be constructed to those remote locations where the railroads cannot be established. For instance, the funds allocated for the construction of roads in inaccessible areas of Leh and Laddakh have connected those locations with rest of the cities where people can reside or visit to spend their leisure time. Secondly, unlike railways, the roads require frequent maintenance as they become damaged by their intensive utilization as well as by the harsh weather conditions which is why the funds should be spent on roads by the government. For instance, the conditions of roads is highly compromised in India that requires immediate repair for which the government must allocate a huge chunk of funds towards it in order to avoid road rages which is increasing every year. Therefore, unlike railways, the advancement of roads is imperative and requires fund allocation. Conclusively, money must be spent on the development of roads by the government as it connents comments all the parts of a nation and considering its average current condition, an immediate repair and advancement is required.