In many countries, paying for things using mobile phone (cellphone) apps is becoming increasingly common. Does this development have more advantages or more disadvantages?

The use of mobile phone apps to purchase things is increasing significantly in many nations. This essay argues that despite the personal information can be easily lost, I believe that there are more benefits as it is very convenient. The main disadvantage of paying for things with mobile applications is that people must give their personal information including their bank information. That is to say that the loss of smartphones can lead to the loss of personal information. Furthermore, in many nations, scam messages or scam phone calls that try to steal bank information, social insurance number are very popular. If their phone is hacked, the consequence is very catastrophic. In Canada, for example, there is a case of someone that lost her social insurance number due to a scam phone call. Due to this, she could not get the employment insurance/benefit during lockdown because of Covid-19. However, in my opinion, the convenience using smartphone apps brings certainly outweighs any disadvantage.One benefit of this technology is the convenience it offers to people. There will be no need to carry cash or go to an ATM when they want to go shopping because they can just use their phone, which they will already have. For example, Carrefour supermarket in Qatar have has implemented a new shopping method where customers can use the Carrefour app to scan the barcode of every item they need to buy. and then, without going to the cashier, they can pay directly through the same app. On top of that, no belonging except for the phone is needed when going shopping. Therefore, I believe that the advantages are countless. In conclusion, even though there are some securities problems, I believe there are more benefits than drawbacks because using smartphone apps to make purchases is convenient.