Some school leavers travel or work for a period of time instead of going directly to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages for their study?

In this contemporary world, people have many routes to choose to develop themselves. Some of them are in favor of working or travelling instead of attending university’s lectures. There are many merits and demerits of working instead of learning. First of all, people may find schools and universities are theoretical and costly. Some cannot afford the cost of 4 to 5 years of studying. As a result, some students leave school and start finding a job. They can gain practical experiences while working. Secondly, those students can soon become financially independent. However, because of lacking qualifications, the occupation they found will be manual jobs with minimum wages and no prospect of promotion. Also, in this era of modernization, manual labour will soon be replaced by machinery. On the other hand, pursuing higher education will bring more benefits. When people attend universities, they will probably end up with a bachelor’s degree, which is a requirement for professional jobs with high salaries and chances of promotions. So, the investment in higher education will offset the amount spent on tuition fees. Despite the less exposure to practical experience, students can still gain practical experience through internships in big companies. Besides, college life can be an opportunity to meet and connect with different individuals as well as enlarge their network, which will be of great assistance in their future careers. In conclusion, we cannot bear the advantages that leaving school and having a job has but there are still a lot more to take into consideration when studying higher education.