The mass media, including television, radio and newspapers, have great influence in shaping people's ideas. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer.

Some people say that the media platforms such as a television, a radio and newspapers have a significant impact on shaping people’s thoughts. I strongly agree with the statement above, which I will extend the reasons in the next paragraph. First of all, the reason why the mass media influence the way we think is that we perceive these media information including news and the advertisement regularly. The media advertisements often pop up on our phones, which the message of it is trying to persuade you to change the way you think little by little, embedding it in your thoughts. For instance, you are on the phone and some random advertisement about toothpaste pops up many times. The next time you going shopping, the advertisement you saw early on will come to your mind, making that random toothpaste another choice of product you might be buying. Secondly, the media companies hire celebrities or internet idols to lure the customer’s attention, especially the kids in the present day often viewing celebrities and idols as their role models. This makes it easy for the media to lead youngsters’ minds and slowly adjust them the way they intend to. For example, imagine a child watching a cartoon of his favourite hero, Spiderman, with excitement, after seeing Spiderman defeating the villain in the show, the character brings up a superhero drink. Therefore, the next time the boy goes to a grocery store, he will likely ask his parents to buy him the superhero drink he saw on the television show because the boy wants to imitate his favourite hero. From the reason above we can conclude that the media have a major impact on how we think in our everyday life due to the frequency we watch mass media and the use of well known figures, making it hard for us to not be affected by the influence of these platforms. This is why it is vital for us to separate what is conceivable and reasonable for those trying to manipulate our mind.