In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

In some cultures, parents or teachers often told their children that in order to achieve something, they must try hard enough. While this can build motivation to endure hardship, but without parents’ guidance, children can be misled into working in a wrong way. One of the advantages is to create moral support for the children. Being told they can achieve anything they desire if they work really hard, for the reward will be worthy in the end. Sparking motivation and passion in the minds and create a good attitude for them to grew on. For Instance, there is a folktale about a mouse fallen into a bucket of cream, while the others have given up and drown out, but one mouse persisted and kept running in the bucket, as a result, the cream had been turned into butter and the mouse survived. Therefore, the morale of the story is do not give up and you will succeed eventually. Despite the uplifting story, the real world can be cruel and full of exploits. Children without parents’ guidance can be easily tricked and misled into doing some dirty works. Many teenagers have been arrested by police for transporting illegal drugs such as heroin or cocaine, as they think it is the quickest way to make a fortune for themselves, resulting in their childhood being ruined and stained their profile with a criminal record. To summarize, encouraging children to endure hard work can build motivation and willpower for them to achieve something greater. Given that, there are always parents or teachers guiding them to make sure they will not be misled.