MUSEUMS AND ART GALLERIES SHOULD CONCENTRATE ON WORKS THAT SHOW HISTORY AND CULTURE OF THEIR OWN COUNTRY RATHER THAN WORKS OF THE OTHER PARTS IN THE WORLD. TO WHAT EXTENT DO YOU AGREE OR DISAGREE?

Nowadays, artistic masterpieces have never failed to provoke debates among people. It is controversially argued that museums and galleries had better focus on cultural artworks rather than those which show international ones. I’m in the middle of this school of thought. However, I do not thoroughly agree with this statement. Exhibitions should concentrate on national works since they bring such a tremendous benefit to a country. Those sites house a wealth of ornaments accompanied with plagues consisting of detailed information on the surface. By doing so, the current generations can have a deeper understanding of the harsh journey that their forefathers went through. Also, the patriotism and the national pride of the residents are strongly aroused. Vietnam Military History Museum, which contains models of aircraft or huge iron tanks used in wartime, can be cited as an outstanding example. While the merits of displaying cultural products are widely acknowledged, adopting international masterpieces also serves a significant role. Without a shadow of a doubt, there is an ever-increasing demand for educational values of the current museum-goers. Therefore, people nowadays have a tendency to house global works with a view to diversifying the content of museums and galleries. Those phenomenal paintings of Van Gough, Da Vinci such as The Starry Night or Monalisa once displayed will attract a huge amount of visitors, especially art-lovers. Furthermore, by displaying works from cross-bordered countries, people may have a more rounded view of the interconnection between nations and prevent undesirable misunderstanding. In short, the tremendously beneficial pros of cultural and international works are equally recognised. In other words, museums and art galleries ought to show both of those factors rather than focusing on a specific one.