Films and computer games which contain violence are very popular. Some people believe they have a negative effect on society and so should be banned. Other people, however, say they are just harmless and help people to relax. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Thriller genre movies and online games that encompass aggression and graphic content have always been at the centre of popularity for many people. Whilst certain individuals claim that this content will produce negative results on the members of the societies and should be hindered, people with the opposite view content that they do not pose a threat to our society, but rather alleviate the audience's tension and stress. I personally uphold the view that undoubtedly, some people may get negatively impacted as a direct result of consuming this content, however, I am against a total ban since exerting partial restrictions is the more prudent choice. On the one hand, as we live on the edge of technology, people spend the majority of their time in front of computers, and more and more people spend their time with movies and games that contain plenty amount of violence. Some viewer discretion advised movies might traumatise the viewership especially the ones that are considered underaged. Consequentially, depending on the sensitivity of the content, people might gravitate towards a wrong perception of reality that might also be perilous. To illustrate, an infamous online game called the Blue Whale has brought about the death of many underaged users by preparing them for a suicide scenario in virtual reality in order for them to commit a suicide attempt. On the other hand, certain individuals find great relief in playing games and streaming videos with explicit content. Just because some underaged youngsters are going to misbehave following +18 gameplay or a movie night, there should not be a ban on these types of entertainment. For example, everyone is entitled to have their own taste in movies and games, therefore, some individuals are indulging in ones with more graphic content to boost their adrenaline and bring a bit of movement into their lives. In conclusion, despite the popularity of these types of movies and games that can be considered dangerous for susceptible youngsters, I still believe that a partial ban or imposing an age restriction based on the genre of content will benefit both sides.