As countries develop, more and more people buy and use their own cars. Does the advantage of this for individuals outweigh the disadvantage for the environment?

Nowadays, in developed countries, the majority of the general public have their own cars for transportation purposes. Throughout this essay, I will explore the advantages and disadvantages of this trend and express my own opinion on the matter. Firstly, I will share the positives of owning personal cars and, secondly I will discuss the negatives of this trend on the environment. To begin with, cars can help us to reach our desired destination on time such as a job. Moreover, it can be used in emergency situations, where public transport is not available. For instance, if somebody gets hurt at the home or someone has to catch a flight, personal transport can be a big help. On top of this, owning a car can give us freedom because we can roam freely in a city without taking into account that bus services are not available at this routine after midnight. On the other hand, the world is facing serious problems right now in terms of both air and noise pollution. For example, a report published recently in the USA stated that more people's are dying from air pollution as compared to cigarette smoking. Furthermore, noise pollution is causing stress and anxiety in our life. Alternatively, we should focus on electric car technology. This is because electric vehicles are silent due to the fact that these cars do not need engines as well as no additional cost on fuel. In conclusion, although there are many benefits and negatives to increasing the total number of cars in developed countries. In my opinion, we should move to advance technology that will not only be eco-friendly but also economical.