Some people think that governments should spend money on railways. Others believe that there should be more investment into new roads. Discuss both sides and give your opinion

The importance of government budgeting money into the right sector can not be emphasised, that is why the people keep arguing about the financial choices made by the government concerning transportation. This is why some people are of the opinion that spending money on railroad is more important than constructing a new road. I believe railway investment has more benefits and I will give my reasons in this essay.  Nowadays, we see the advantages of railway transport as it is a cheaper and safer means to travel. The incidence of railway accident is very low and it is usually not as dangerous as other means of transportation. The citizens can travel long or short distances for about a quarter of what they would spend on a flight ticket or bus fare. In addition, there is no rail traffic since the trains work on a schedule, so it is reliable and a good option for employees and students. On the other hand, roads are more accessible to people and it is easier to get a bus or taxi going almost anywhere in the country. Constructing even more roads makes it better. Moreover, the commercial bus system is a good source of revenue and employment. There are many taxi companies and even the state bus system which has created job opportunities. To conclude, I think railway investment is more reasonable mostly during these periods of overpopulation and road congestion, creating more roads will only add to the existing problem. Trains or trams are bigger and can transport more people and goods at a time thus saving money on energy and less pollution to the environment.