As countries develop, more and more people buy and use their own cars. Does the advantage of this for individuals outweigh the disadvantage for the environment?

In recent times, individuals prefer to purchase their own cars and utilize them for their daily uses instead of using other modes of transport. This essay agrees that the negative impact this phenomenon imposes on the environment outweighs the advantages that car owners achieve, and the reasons will be elucidated further. First of all, the most obvious disruption is the pollution that large number of vehicles emit. These greenhouse gases that the cars release due to the burning of fuel and gas lowers the air quality, which subsequently promotes global warming. Secondly, the rise in personal cars contributes to traffic congestion, especially in urban areas. For example, most businesses are located downtown which the employees travel to and from heavily at certain hours, hence, the traffic during those times are definitely not pleasant. Finally, all these factors influence the lifestyle of those who reside in cities as they are inhaling bad quality air and experience terrible commute. On the contrary, it is true that having a car at one’s disposal is extremely convenient as it can be used during times of emergency. Moreover, individuals can have better time management, for instance, they would not need to act according to buses or trains schedules. Admittedly, the benefits are quite significant, nonetheless, it is incomparable to the drawbacks on the society. To summarize, although there are multiple gains for people to have their own vehicles such as convenience and better arrangements for utilization of time, it is clear that the negative consequences on the environment are more intolerable. As a result of everyone having their own cars, there is more pollution, bad traffic flow and urban residents have unpleasant lifestyles.