Social media is becoming increasingly popular among all age groups. However, sharing personal information on social media websites does have risks. Do you think advantages of social media outweigh the advantages?

It is no denying that the advent of social media witnesses the public’s increasing dependency on the virtual world. Such a phenomenon has lead to an assumption that the disadvantages of social media overweigh its disadvantage. However, as far as the effectiveness of socializing and economical benefits are concerned, I firmly believe that the upside of social media exceeds its downside. First and foremost. Social media has been viewed as a more effective approach to expand social circles and discover people sharing familiar interests and thoughts. Due to the progression of the Internet, people from all walks of life can be reached. Moreover, social media allows netizens to explicitly label them in terms of characters, hobbies, and interests, facilitating people to access their ideal partners and friends efficiently. For example, students in a remote area who are huge fans of city life can easily connect with their peers in megacities on the Internet, who may otherwise be hard or time-consuming to develop a sense of belonging in their neighbor. Admittedly, a voice may raise that over-dependency on social media tend to produce a negative impact economically, since the majority of its service is money-consuming. Ironically, it is those people themselves who lack self-discipline that should be to blame. Conversely, it is in fact widely accepted that social media can be treated as a method of earning a living, including by making advertisements for commercial cooperations. Take the internet-famous nowadays as an example, who tend to receive a decent salary by selling commodities online. Had social media not been popularized, they would never have been paid so well. In a nutshell, I maintain the view that the strength of social media overweighs its weakness considering social effectiveness and economical benefits.