In some countries the number of people who use bicycles as their main form of transport is decreasing even though riding bicycles has many benefits. What are the reasons? What could be done to encourage the use of bicycles.

It cannot be denied that the bicycle is an invention that has existed for a long time in human history, and such a fact leads some to have the idea that the bicycle is a thing of the past. However, such an idea needs to be scrutinized meticulously before a conclusion can be reached. First and foremost, it is a fact that due to the development of technology, the use of bicycles has declined dramatically as people’s main form of transport. We now have faster and more efficient ways of communication – private cars, subways, and bus rapid transit – which takes us to our intended destinations easily and conveniently, without the need to keep the bulky bikes with us when we hang out with friends, and not to mention the trouble of keeping them in a safe place from theft. Although some might claim that bikes are outdated, bicycles in fact have significant benefits to both individuals and society in terms of health and the environment. For us, riding bikes not only helps us dodge traffic congestions during peak hours, but promote our physical health through moderate aerobic exercise and mental health by distracting us from intensive study or professional work; on the other hand, the use of vehicles has caused major cities around the globe the problem of air pollution such as smog, and the wide adoption of bikes could contain such issues – the success in Amsterdam, Netherland, and Copenhagen, Denmark are two successful cases in point. In my opinion, it is through the combination of technology and governmental policy that we can best encourage the use of bicycles. To be more specific, the wide adoption of mobile devices and GPS technology has enabled the birth of shared bikes, which not only complements conventional ways of transportation but eliminates the need for carrying or storage; furthermore, governmental subsidies could be provided to companies that operate shared bikes, and those who do not own private cars and frequently use bicycles. The synergy from such a combination will effectively work as an incentive to boost the use of bicycles. In conclusion, the use of bicycles has numerous advantages to our modern society, and it should be promoted. While one sees a zero and another sees a circle, I am confident that my opponents will compromise after being shown to my article.